The International Women’s day celebrated @ ICAR-NRCB, Trichy

Reaching and recognizing the grassroot level women achievers with “3 -E s” - Entrepreneurship, Equity and Empowerment – An ICAR-NRCB Initiative

The ICAR-National Research Centre for Banana, Trichy, celebrated the International Women’s Day on 10.3.21 with the theme “International Women's Day: Women Leadership in Agriculture: Entrepreneurship, Equality & Empowerment” to acknowledge the role of women in agriculture and allied sectors and honoured women achievers. The Chief Guest of the occasion, Dr. (Mrs.) Nandhini Azad, President, Indian Co-operative Network of Women, Chennai emphasized the role of organization, cooperatives and networking in empowering rural and poor women. Dr. S. Uma, Director, ICAR-NRCB, in her presidential address outlined the role played by NRCB in promoting entrepreneurship, equality and empowerment of women. There were five guests of honour representing various fields including Mrs. Kavin Thirumurugan, Director of Sai Kirupa Group of Institutions, Tirupur; Mrs. D. Nitya, IRS, Joint Commissioner of Income Tax, Trichy; Dr. (Mrs.) S. Kowsalya, Registrar, Avinasilingam Institute, Coimbatore; and Mr. P. Sridharan, Joint Commissioner of Income Tax, Trichy. The guests of honor gave inspiring and motivating accounts of their experiences in their chosen fields and conveyed the message that women can achieve anything with self-belief and confidence.  

On the occasion, six grassroot level women achievers were felicitated for their outstanding achievements and significant contribution towards women empowerment and leadership in the society. Women entrepreneurs Ms. Ishana, Mrs. G. Viruthambal and Mrs. M. Rajeshwari were recipients of awards for “Women Leadership” for their contributions towards society and agriculture. Mrs. K. Maheshwari was honored for her entrepreneurship in promotion of drip irrigation. Ms. G. Kajol, President of SAFE Transgender Association, received an award for her Leadership in Transgender Community Development. A team of Covid warriors from the Department of Microbiology, KAPVGMC, was felicitated for its untiring and dedicated service. The programme was coordinated by Dr. C. Karpagam and Dr. D. Ramajayam. Dr. M.S. Saraswathi welcomed the gathering and Dr. J. Poorani proposed a vote of thanks.


Priced Publications

Mobile Apps